Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

When/Why is "Pre-load all assembly references into test environment" required
damageboy
#1 Posted : Monday, August 25, 2014 10:06:33 AM(UTC)

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Hi,
In my 70+ project solution I have a specific "chain" of projects that I can't get to run tests without turning on
the "Pre-load all assembly references into test environment" option for the top-level project.
The chain of projects goes like this:
X.Tests (Project) -> X (Project) -> Compression.MixedMode.dll (Static Reference)

X.Tests is the unit-test projects for X
X is one on my projects which depends on:
Compression.MixedMode.dll - a mixed mode binary that has .NET MSIL code mixed with native x86/x64

When I started playing around with V2, this project (X.Tests consistently failed to run, complaining that it can't find Compression.MixedMode.dll while running the tests (Compilation runs fine).

I tried increasing NCrunch's verbosity, but except for seeing that NCrunch isn't picking up the dependency on Compression.MixedMode.dll (since NCrunch spits out dependencies when running tests in detailed mode).

I can't understand why it's not picking up the dependency normally, since it's "just" another .NET binary, as far as NCrunch SHOULD be bothered about it.
It might not be related to it being a mixed mode library, but I think that's highly unlikely since it's the only mixed mode library in the project on the one hand, and it's the only project that seems to be affected by it.

Any ideas?
Remco
#2 Posted : Monday, August 25, 2014 10:36:04 AM(UTC)

Groups: Administrators

Was thanked: 1257 time(s) in 1170 post(s)
Hi,

It can be difficult to tell why the CLR would have trouble loading the mixed mode assembly at run-time. My first thought is that the CLR may be behaving very differently when loading this assembly due to it being structurally different to a normal .NET assembly.