Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Use symbolic links for referenced assemblies in workspace
yanglee
#1 Posted : Monday, June 24, 2013 11:46:04 PM(UTC)

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 19 time(s) in 18 post(s)
Hi,

Since I installed RavenDB's nuget packages (67MB) for my main project several days ago, I got an IOException every 0.5~2 hours because my 4GB RamDisk is out of space. By using WinDirStat, I found 95% of the disk space is filled with referenced dll files.

I'm not a computer expert, not sure if it's technically a good idea, but is it possible to solve this issue by using symbolic links instead of copying these assembles to the workspace?

Cheers,

Yang
Remco
#2 Posted : Tuesday, June 25, 2013 2:23:07 AM(UTC)

Groups: Administrators

Was thanked: 1257 time(s) in 1170 post(s)
Hi Yang -

This is something I did look at earlier, as it would reduce the amount of file copying going on.

Unfortunately, it wouldn't solve all the isolation issues that come with the need to separate projects from their base solution. The big reason NCrunch copies these files is because of file locking issues - DLL files are locked by any application domain that makes use of them, which means they cannot be modified or replaced while tests are in progress or their host processes are still running.

There is actually a project-level configuration setting that you might find useful - Include static references in workspace. When turned off, NCrunch will avoid copying DLL files into the workspace and will simply reference them from your foreground solution. As described, a side-effect of doing this is that you'll find you are unable to update any of these DLLs while the NCrunch engine is enabled - but this should greatly reduce disk consumption on your ram disk.

Cheers,

Remco
1 user thanked Remco for this useful post.
yanglee on 6/25/2013(UTC)
yanglee
#3 Posted : Tuesday, June 25, 2013 5:02:03 AM(UTC)

Groups: Registered