Is the file name format of the v2 settings files permanent? I've temporarily excluded the new v2 files from version control in order to avoid having two sets of setting files in my SVN and GitHub repo's during beta.
Ideally it would be nice if v2 used the same setting files as v1, and have v1 just ignore settings it doesn't understand... it'll be a bit of a PITA sorting out version control where there is already a bucketful of v1 files to then have to wipe them and replace them with v2 files instead (and ensuring said v2 files exist first). After all, you can't run v1 and v2 at the same time :)
Yes, the change is expected to be permanent. Unfortunately, there isn't really a right answer in this situation, as V2 will continue to see updates while V1 will fade into legacy. Settings between both versions are not cross compatible and V2 contains a special translation routine to deal with the settings from V1. The main situation this is intended to work around is for teams that are running multiple versions of NCrunch at one time, which would be impossible unless the versions were using different files.
Thought that might be the case... oh well, I'm not planning on going back to v1 so I might as well get everything converted and blatted sooner rather than later!