Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Use Roslyn build
mattyboy
#1 Posted : Thursday, February 22, 2018 3:15:13 PM(UTC)

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Hi, I've been using NCrunch off and on for a few years. Have been using it happily for the last few months on a greenfield solution, which has grown as our team has added code.

As of the couple of weeks or so, NCrunch has slowed right down. As an example, I just changed some code in one of my tests:
VS build (Ctrl-Shift-B): 7 secs
NCrunch build (i.e. B icon with circle): 1min 51sec
NCrunch test (349 tests): 54 secs

The slow execution time is our fault - our tests still have some HTTP calls which need to be mocked. But the slow NCrunch build time is agony. And why the NCrunch build takes longer than Visual Studio is also a mystery. It never used to take this long. As a reference, a Rebuild Solution in VS takes 40secs. It's not only my machine, the rest of team have this pain too.

I wonder why does NCrunch have its own build process? Could or should it use the exes which are built by VS?

I'm not too sure how Roslyn works, but for example if I type bad code in VS, I immediately get an error appear in the Error List in VS. If I correct it it disappears. I guess this is Roslyn compiling the code for me and checking it? Can NCrunch use that?
Remco
#2 Posted : Thursday, February 22, 2018 11:00:43 PM(UTC)

Groups: Administrators

Was thanked: 1257 time(s) in 1170 post(s)
Hi, thanks for posting.

To know more about how where the bottleneck is here, we'll need to take a look at some of the performance analysis results from one of your NCrunch builds.