Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Error running test that requires IsolatedStorage
MatthewSteeples
#1 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2020 8:26:37 PM(UTC)

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 16 post(s)
We have some tests that are throwing a SecurityException when trying to save an OpenXml Excel file. It looks like it's trying to use IsolatedStorage (because it's an 8mb file and it saves it to disk instead of in memory). I'm sure I used to know how to solve this kind of problem but I can't work out where to begin with NCrunch!

Has anyone had anything like this before?
Remco
#2 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2020 11:53:20 PM(UTC)

Groups: Administrators

Was thanked: 1256 time(s) in 1169 post(s)
Hi, thanks for posting.

NCrunch provides no special handling for IsolatedStorage, so test processes behave the same way as any console application without any user impersonation or configuration. Personally, I have no experience in working with IsolatedStorage, so I can't really advise on how best to proceed here. It may be that some preparation is necessary in your test setup code.
MatthewSteeples
#3 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2020 12:13:08 AM(UTC)

Hi Remco, does NCrunch load and execute the tests in an AppDomain at all? If so, it's potentially looking like a lack of "evidence" could be the problem. It looks like Isolated Storage uses the identity of the AppDomain to determine where to read and write data, so if this isn't set (as I believe it's optional) then it fails
Remco
#4 Posted : Tuesday, October 13, 2020 3:55:43 AM(UTC)

MatthewSteeples;14988 wrote:
Hi Remco, does NCrunch load and execute the tests in an AppDomain at all? If so, it's potentially looking like a lack of "evidence" could be the problem. It looks like Isolated Storage uses the identity of the AppDomain to determine where to read and write data, so if this isn't set (as I believe it's optional) then it fails