Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Setting password in registry breaks automated NCrunch GridNode installation
josh-grant
#1 Posted : Thursday, May 13, 2021 7:54:18 AM(UTC)

Groups: Registered

Hi all!

I'm an engineer whose been working on an automated NCrunch solution that runs in AWS on an windows EC2 instance. I've had a few challenges automating the setup and service start of NCrunch, specifically when setting the Password parameter in the registry after the NCrunch MSI installation finishes. If I leave the password blank then it "just works". Bare in mind I'm trying to create an immutable solution where every night the EC2 instance that is running NCrunch terminates and in the morning a new EC2 instance spins up (Scheduled Autoscaling).

Unfortunately alot of the NCrunch documentation assumes that when setting up distributed processing, that the server/instance/vm is long lived or persistent but I'm trying to do a completely silent installation. This doesn't quite work nicely when creating an automated solution in the cloud. I have tried a number of different ways to try and get NCrunch to work WITH a password but I feel there's some issues when I set the password (which I first hash and encrypt locally before setting it in the registry so that its not in plain test) and then when NCrunch service starts up, I then try to connect to it via my visual studio and then gets stuck on "Negotiating" as it can't complete the handshake of the initial connection.

When I set the password as empty, and I connect, it has no issues.

Some more info on my setup:

* Running latest GridNode server on a Windows server 2019 EC2 instance in AWS
* As part of bootup script (userdata) I run a powershell script that does the following:
- Runs msiexec to install the gridnode server msi silently
- Next I set all the required registry keys for NCrunch (Listening Port, Password, Processors etc)
- Sleep 15 seconds