Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

NCrunch Fails when running tests using async / await and tcp connections
s0127786
#1 Posted : Friday, June 7, 2013 9:22:48 AM(UTC)

Groups: Registered

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to NCrunch and willing to believe this is something wrong with my setup but I'm running a fairly complex test which:

Creates a TCP Server and awaits new connections.
Creates a TCP Client and connects to the server
Establish an SSL connection between them using SSLStream (AuthenticateAsClient / Server respectively).

Verify that a connection has been established.

If I remove the AuthenticateAsClient / Server calls then the test completes with no problems.

If they're left in then intermittently I get a Windows error saying that ncrunch has stopped responding. A new process seems to spin up immediately though but in these cases the test will fail with:
NCrunch was unable to retrieve a meaningful result from this test due to an unexpected error - was the execution process terminated?

I've checked through the logs and nothing is jumping out at me related to that particular test. Firewall permits all ncrunch connections (and it doesnt seem to be the connection itself that's the problem).

Sorry this isn't more helpful, happy to run any tests that you might find useful.

Thanks,

Michael
Remco
#2 Posted : Friday, June 7, 2013 10:27:33 AM(UTC)

Groups: Administrators

Was thanked: 1257 time(s) in 1170 post(s)
Hi Michael -

Thanks for sharing this issue. Socket/TCP/SSL tests are fairly routine for NCrunch, so I suspect that the devil here is in the detail of the code running under test.